Live Chat

Go Back   Pixies Place Forums > Sex Talk > General Chat
User Name
Password

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2002, 09:55 AM
Wildland Fire Fighter

I wish you could see

I just had to share this, don't know how many firefighters we have with us in Pixies.

I am a wildland firefighter..

I wish you could see the sadness of a business man as his livelihood goes up in flames, or that family returning home, only to find their house and belongings damaged or lost for good.

I wish you could know what it is like to search a burning bedroom for trapped children, flames rolling above your head, your palms and knees burning as you crawl, the floor sagging under your weight as the kitchen below you burns.

I wish you can comprehend a wife's horror at 3a.m. as I check her husband of 40 years for pulse and find none.* I start CPR anyway, hoping to bring him back, knowing intuitively it is too late.* But wanting his wife and family to know everything possible was done to try to save his life.

I wish you knew the unique smell of burning insulation, the taste of soot-filled mucus, the feeling of intense heat through your turnout gear, the sound of flames crackling, the eeriness of being able to see absolutely nothing in dense smoke-sensations that I've become too familiar with.

I wish you could understand how it feels to go to work in the morning after spending most of the night, hot and soaking wet at a multiple alarm fire.* I wish you could read my mind as I respond to a building fire "Is this a false alarm or a working fire? How is the building constructed? What hazards await me? Is anyone trapped?"* Or to an EMS call, "What is wrong with the patient? Is it minor or life threatening?* Is the caller really in distress or is he waiting for us with a 2X4 or a gun?"